Posted in Uncategorized

Why Be Kind? Because This Is My Boy

#NewPost: Why #BeKind? Because this is My Boy.

Mother of Serendipity

It’s just a red plastic folder with his name on it, but the last few days it has tortured my son, causing him to melt down during school dismissal. Of course, it’s not really the folder, but what is contained inside: Homework.
Yes, homework, and he doesn’t want it. Nope, he does not want it at all. Doesn’t want to bring it home, doesn’t want to do it, and the mere use of the “H” word will bring him to the brink of collapse.

Ok, no kid LIKES homework. But why this dramatic reaction?

Yesterday, as I brought the folder out of his backpack, my Boy fell to the ground and called himself an idiot. As in, “I can’t do that homework! I’m just an idiot!”
After convincing him we could get it done quickly, we got to work on 4 measurement problems, basically counting both our footsteps to measure distances…

View original post 533 more words

Author:

I frequently write about the struggle to find the bright side of life and motherhood, looking out for unexpected treasures, and committing random acts of photography in my adopted hometown of NYC.

Leave a Reply

