Posted in Uncategorized

How I Became A Grown Up

Mother of Serendipity

Flying across the Atlantic the other night I found the movie Wish I Was Here, written by Adam & Zachary Braff. Zach Braff also plays the lead. About 35 minutes into the film I paused it, and the following flowed out. 

Do you want to know when you really become a grown up? It’s when you have to take care of your parent/guardian/whathaveyou.  

The day you realize you’re the caregiver. That the balance has shifted on your scales. 
 
For a litany of reasons that I’m not delving into, I was the official decision maker as my mom lay dying in a hospital. 
 
My dad was on the other side of town, in a different hospital, & working his way back to mom. 
 
My brother, let’s call him Daniel, was the one who lived closer. He had a wife & a gaggle of kids. I lived 6…

View original post 397 more words

Author:

I frequently write about the struggle to find the bright side of life and motherhood, looking out for unexpected treasures, and committing random acts of photography in my adopted hometown of NYC.

Leave a Reply

