Posted in Uncategorized

Hug it out bro- My quest to raise emotionally-aware boys.

Taking notes & filing this away for multiple re-readings, because this is certainly something to think about.

ON THE YELLOW COUCH

Dammit.  A lump formed in my throat. The lightsaber I ordered doesn’t light-up, and Benny’s birthday party is tomorrow.  I have an endless list of things to do, and I won’t be able to make it to the store to get a new one….

The kids were downstairs, so I let the tears flow as I intentionally observed and squashed my judgemental thoughts like bugs:

It’s not that big of a deal! Why are you so upset? SQUASH.

So what? It’s nothing to get crazy about! SQUASH.

You’re stressed about this? Seriously?  SQUASH.

It had been a horribly exhausting couple days with several unanticipated doctor’s appointments, having to rearrange my work schedule/find childcare because of school delays, cleaning a trashed post-vacation house and catching up on homework, and preparing for our youngest’s upcoming birthday party. With to-do-lists maxed-out and self-care neglected, it’s understandable that a non-functional lightsaber would feel…

View original post 592 more words

Author:

I frequently write about the struggle to find the bright side of life and motherhood, looking out for unexpected treasures, and committing random acts of photography in my adopted hometown of NYC.

Leave a Reply

